Scholarships and Awards for Youth Volunteers

Red Cross youth volunteers may be eligible for several scholarships and awards, including the Navin Narayan Award for Excellence in Youth Leadership, Navin Narayan College Scholarship, Leaders Save Lives Scholarships, Jane Delano Student Nurse Scholarship, and James H. Parke Memorial Scholarship. Eligibility requirements and award amounts vary between each scholarship, and details are listed below:


Navin Narayan Award for Excellence in Youth Leadership

Screen Shot 2016-06-15 at 4.52.59 PM

The Navin Narayan Award for Excellence in Youth Leadership is presented to an American Red Cross volunteer between the ages of 14 and 24 who has volunteered with the Red Cross for at least two years and served in a leadership capacity. Like the award’s namesake, Navin Narayan, the ideal recipient will have demonstrated a strong track record of leading and inspiring fellow Red Cross volunteers, creating a positive impact on their community, and exemplifying dedication to the Red Cross mission. Those previously nominated for this award may be re-nominated.

The Navin Narayan Award for Excellence in Youth Leadership is a National Award presented annually to a deserving Red Cross Youth Volunteer.

Please note this award is NOT a scholarship. There is no cash prize for this award.

Learn more about the Navin Narayan Award for Excellence in Youth Leadership


Navin Narayan College Scholarship


One (1) $1,000 scholarship per year will be awarded across the United States to apply towards future educational costs.


Eligibility requirements:

  • Be a high school senior
  • Be planning to attend a four-year college or university
  • Have served a minimum of two years as a Red Cross volunteer


Both a Rhodes Scholar and a Harvard graduate, Navin Narayan was a high achieving student as well as a dedicated, compassionate, and innovative American Red Cross volunteer. Navin served many roles in the American Red Cross, including National Youth Council Chair. Tragically, at the age of 23, Navin succumbed to cancer. Since 2001, the National Youth Council has continued Navin Narayan’s legacy of volunteerism and academic excellence by awarding the Navin Narayan College Scholarship to a high school senior who embodies his principles.  This scholarship is a one-time award of $1,000 paid directly to one recipient upon proof of matriculation.


The 2020 application process is closed, and the 2021 application process will open in Winter 2021.


Learn more about the Navin Narayan College Scholarship


Leaders Save Lives Scholarships

Leaders Save Lives is a program to encourage high school and college students to host blood drives during critical collection time periods while school is out of session. Participating students earn leadership skills and volunteer hours. Students who collect 25+ pints are also eligible to earn a gift card and an entry to win a scholarship.

Learn more about Leaders Saves Lives!


Jane Delano Student Nurse Scholarship


Three (3) $3,000 scholarships will be awarded per year.


Eligibility requirements:

  • Have served as a Red Cross volunteer or employee within the past 5 years.
  • Have completed the equivalent of at least one year of college/university credits.
  • Be currently enrolled in an accredited United States nursing program.
  • Be currently enrolled as an undergraduate or graduate student in good academic standing.


The Jane Delano Student Nurse Scholarship was established to promote nursing as a career and to promote the involvement of new nurses in the Red Cross.  The scholarship is available to nursing students (undergraduate or graduate) who have contributed volunteer service to or are employees of a Red Cross Unit. Preference will be given to nursing student volunteers.


Learn more about the Jane Delano Student Nurse Scholarship


James H Parke Memorial Scholarship

One (1) scholarship of up to $20,000 will be awarded per year for tuitions and fees, books and supplies and/or room and board or other educational needs purchased through the school of the students’ choice. Scholarship winners must use their awards by their 24th birthday.


Eligibility requirements:

  • Have completed 100 hours of regularly scheduled Department of Veterans Affairs Voluntary Service (VAVS) during the calendar year prior to September 1
  • Be a student in the 10th grade or above
  • Have not reached their 19th birthday
  • Be nominated by the Medical Center Director by November 1


James H. Parke was the first Director of Voluntary Service and the founding father of the Department of Veterans Affairs Voluntary Service (VAVS) National Advisory Committee (NAC).


Criteria on which candidates are evaluated for consideration of awards include: Scholastic activity, dependability, fulfillment and acceptance of responsibility, personality and pleasantness to patients and staff, leadership capability, inspiration to patients through service performed, and appearance.

Learn more about the James H Parke Memorial Scholarship




Volunteer Connection

Volunteer Connection